Helmholtz KLIMA

With Helmholtz KLIMA, the Helmholtz Association is renewing its commitment to climate research in 2024 and reorganizing the Helmholtz Climate Initiative.

The objective of Helmholtz KLIMA is to bring together climate-relevant research findings from all 18 Helmholtz Centers, promote new interdisciplinary research collaborations, and align the bundled knowledge in a more demand- and transfer-oriented manner. 

In a collaborative forum with policymakers, media professionals, and business leaders, Helmholtz KLIMA serves as a platform for dialogue to discuss and communicate solutions to the challenges of climate change.

As a centralized platform, Helmholtz KLIMA facilitates dialogue and cooperation within the Helmholtz Association and among national and international stakeholders. 

Steering Board

Prof. Dr. Katja Matthes (Coordination)
Director, GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel  

Prof. Dr. Matthias H. Tschöp
CEO and Spokesperson for the Management, Helmholtz Munich

Prof. Dr. Bernd Rech
Scientific Director, Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin

Prof. Dr. Astrid Lambrecht
Chair of the Board of Directors, Forschungszentrum Jülich 

Dr. Anke Pagels-Kerp
Divisional Board Member for Space, German Aerospace Center

Prof. Dr. Matthias Rehahn
Scientific Director, Helmholtz-Zentrum Hereon


Deutschlandkarte mit 18 Helmholtz-Zentren
Deutschlandkarte mit 18 Helmholtz-Zentren
Hermann von Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft Deutscher Forschungszentren e.V.

All 18 centers of the Helmholtz Association are involved in Helmholtz KLIMA.